ISLAMABAD, June 1 (APP): The address of President Mamnoon Hussain on Wednesday to the joint sitting of the Parliament informally marked the beginning of the fourth parliamentary year.

According to the Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN), the presidential address to the joint sitting continued for 41 minutes after which the session was prorogued.

The session lasted for 51 minutes as the sitting started at
1108 hours against the scheduled time of 1100 hours.
National Assemby Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq presided over the sitting while Senate Chairman Mian Raza Rabbani was also present.

Prime Minister Muahhamd nawaz Sharif was not present as he had gone abroad for medical treatment while Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah attended the entire sitting.

Leader of the House in the Senate Raja Zafarul Haq attended the sitting throughout while Leader of the Opposition in the Senate Aitzaz Ahsan was present for 46 minutes.

Some 225 parliamentarians (50%) were present at the outset and 262 (59%) at the adjournment of the sitting.
Seventeen federal ministers attended the sitting.