ISLAMABAD Nov 17 (APP): Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan here on Thursday was accorded warm welcome by the parliamentarians at time of his address to the joint sitting of Parliament.

On his arrival to the House along with Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq and Chairman Senate Mian Raza Rabbani, the Turkish President was welcomed with desks thumping for quite some time.

Prime Minister, Muhammed Nawaz Sharif, Minister, Leaders of the
Opposition in National Assembly and the Senate and other Parliamentarians kept standing at the seats and continued desks thumping for quite some time.

National Anthems of both the countries were played soon after recitation of verses from the Holy Quran and Na’at.

Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq praised wisdom and acumen of the Turkish President for economic progress and strengthening democracy and mentioned to centuries old historic Pak-Turk brotherly relations.

The visiting guest who had the honor of addressing the joint sitting for third time was also appreciated by desks thumping when he mentioned to Pak-Turkey relations, courageous war against terrorism and the Kashmir issue.

On culmination of proceedings of this special sitting, the Turkish President was introduced to Parliamentarians as he was guided to the leaders by Speaker Ayaz Sadiq.

Erdogan shook hands with Prime Ministe, Muhammed Nawaz Sharif, Leader of  the House in the Senate, Raja Muhammad Zafarul Haq, federal ministers Akram Khan Durrani, Mir Hasil Bazinjo, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Ahsan Iqbal, Rana Tanveer Hussain, Khawaja Muhammad Asif and Ishaq Dar, former Prime Minister Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali, Maulana fazlur Rehman, Leaders of Opposition in National Assembly and the Senate Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah and Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan and opposition members including Ayaz Soomro, Ijaz Jakhrani, Syed Naveed Qamar, Maqbool Siddiqui, Sardar Yaqoob Khan Nasir, Farooq Sattar, Mushahid Hussain Sayed, Ilyas Bilour, Aftab Khan Sherpao, Ghulam Ahmed Bilour and Mahmood Khan Achakzai.