WI joins Australia on the top of ICC Women’s Championship table

ISLAMABAD, Oct 26 (APP): West Indies 3-0 win over Pakistan in St
Lucia on Saturday, has allowed it to join the world number-one Australia on
the top of the ICC Women’s Championship table released on Monday.
Pakistan played four ODIs against the West Indies on the tour and
though it won the opening match of the series, only the last three matched
counted towards the ICC Women’s Championship, says a press release issued
The ICC Women’s Team Rankings will now be updated at the
conclusion of the three-match T20I series, which will be played in St
George’s, Grenada, from 29 October to 1 November.
WI Stafanie Taylor’s side has leapfrogged South Africa and is now
level with Australia on 16 points. However, both Australia and South Africa
have played one less round of matches. In their fourth round matches next
year, Australia will host India and South Africa will host England.
The West Indies’ dominance is also reflected in the last ICC Women’s
ODI Player Rankings, which has seen a number of its players move in the
right direction.
Taylor has claimed three places to third in the ICC Women’s ODI Player
Rankings for Batters, while there were notable gains for Nain Abidi (up six
places to 25th), Merissa Aguilleira (up 14 places to 28th), Asmavia Iqbal (up six places to a career-high 42nd), Britney Cooper (up 16 places to 71st) and Aliya Riaz (up 12 places to 100th).
In the ICC Women’s ODI Player Rankings for Bowlers, Anisa
Mohammed has retained her second place behind runaway leader Jhulan
Goswami of India, while 24-year-old skipper Taylor has dropped one place
to fourth. There was better news for Tremayne Smartt who has vaulted four
places to 14th.
Stafanie Taylor continues to lead the all-rounders’ tables and holds a
65-point advantage over Australia’s Ellyse Perry.
The ICC Women’s Championship is a qualifying tournament for the
ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 and is being participated by Australia,
England, India, New Zealand Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West
The top four sides from the ICC Women’s Championship will obtain
automatic qualification for the event proper to be staged in England, while
the bottom four sides will get a final chance of qualification through the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier in 2017.
The tournament structure sees each team will play each other in one
home or away series that will include three ODIs over a two and a half year
period. As such, each side is guaranteed, at least, 21 ODIs over the
tournament period.

APP Services