LAHORE, Apr 05 (APP):Faisalabad defeated Sargodha by 41-18 in the final of 72nd Punjab Games 2019 kabaddi event at Punjab Stadium here on Friday.
Punjab Law Minister Raja Basharat was the chief guest. He distributed prizes among the top performers of the event.
Punjab Law Minister Raja Basharat, on this occasion, said Punjab Sports Minister Rai Taimoor Khan Bhatti, Secretary Sports Punjab Nadeem Mehboob and DG Sports Punjab Nadeem Sarwar deserved huge congratulations on the revival of Punjab Games after eight years.
In table tennis girls’ singles event final, Lahore’s Parniya outplayed compatriot Kalsoom by 3-0. In the 3rd/4th position match, Ayesha of Faisalabad toppled Amna of Sahiwal by 3-0. Commissioner Lahore Dr Mujtaba Piracha was the chief guest on this occasion.
Girls from Lahore also excelled in women’s doubles event. The pair of Parniya and Kalsoom defeated Rawalpindi’s Natasha and Huma without much trouble by 3-1.
In boys’ weightlifting competition, Azaan Ali of Gujranwala won the 73kg category title while the second and third spots were taken by Hamza Ashfaq of Lahore and Asghar Ali from Faisalabad. The title of 89kg category was won by Lahore’s Abdur Rehman whereas M Saqib Saeed and Ghulam Rasool got the next two positions, respectively.
In boys’ hockey, Bahawalpur and Faisalabad toppled their opponents comfortably and sealed a place in Punjab Games hockey title clash.
Bahawalpur thrashed Sargodha by a big margin 7-4 in the first semifinal
at National Hockey Stadium. Faisalabad outplayed Sahiwal by 7-1
in the 2nd semifinal.
In boys’ football match, Sahiwal defeated Faisalabad by 5-3 on penalty kicks at DPS Football Ground, Model Town. Both the teams netted 1 goal each in the stipulated time. In another football match, Sargodha edged out Gujranwala by 1-0. Sargodha’s Farhan struck the only goal of the match.
In women athletics, Faiqa Riaz of Lahore was declared fastest athlete in 100m race. Eesha of Faisalabad and Turab Zahra finished second and third respectively in this race.
In badminton Team event, Sahiwal upset Lahore by 2-1 while Rawalpindi thrashed Gujranwala by 2-0 in 3rd position match.
Following are the results:
Match won by Sahiwal by 2-1
First singles: Gohar Azam (Lahore) beat Ahtisham (Sahiwal) by 21-14, 21-8
2nd singles: Muqeet Tahir (Sahiwal) beat Ahmer Jalal (Lahore) by 16-21, 21-19, 21-11
Doubles: Muqeet Tahir & Irfan (Sahiwal) beat Ahmer Jalal & Gohar (Lahore) by 18-21, 24-22, 21-15.
3rd position match Rawalpindi vs Gujranwala
Match won by Rawalpindi 2-0
1st Single: Muteeb Sohail (R.pindi) beat Yousaf Rehman (Gjrnwla) by 21-18, 21-16
Doubles: Uaakeph & Abdullah (R.pindi) beat Yousaf & Waqar (Gjrnwla) by 21-9, 21-16
In badminton men’s doubles final, Uaakeph & Muteeb Sohail (R.pindi) beat Gohar Azam & Ahmer Jalal (Lhr) by 21-13, 21-15.
Men’s doubles 3rd position match: Muqeet Tahir & Irfan (Sahwl) beat Anees & Jalees Khan (Mltn) 21-17, 12-21, 21-9.
In other provinces match, Qari Adnan (KP) beat Raza Ali Adil (Punjab) by 21-17 and 21-12.
According to pentathlon competition results:
Round 1: First Shakeel Ahmed (Lhr), 2nd Shahzad Ali (Fsbd), 3rd M Babar (Sahwl)
Round 2: First Umer Saleem (Fsbd), 2nd Bilal Sghar (Lhr) 3rd Zaid Imran (Sahwl)
Round 3: First Shahbaz (Bwpur), 2nd M Usman (R.pindi), 3rd M Mudassir (Fsbd)
Round 4: First Mohsin Sardar (Lhr), 2nd Muzammil Hussain (Gujrwla), 3rd Mohammad Talha (Bwpr).