Pak Youth IX beat Australian Army in T20 match

LAHORE, Oct 21 (APP): Pakistan Youth XI imposed a massive 107 runs win over visiting Australian Army team in the second T20 match of the three-match series here
at the Gaddafi Stadium on Friday.

Pakistan Army team 4 Corps defeated Australia team by four wickets in the opening match of the series and their third match will be played tomorrow, Saturday at Bagh-e-Jinnah ground.

Corps Commander Lahore, Lt General Sadiq Ali was the chief guest on the occasion.

Elected to bat after winning the toss on a lively wicket, Pakistan Youth XI posted a big total of 219 runs for the loss of three wickets and bowled out the Australian side at 88 runs in 19.4 overs.

Waqas Ali played a lead role in Pakistan’s innings that was later consolidated by Fahad Usman. Both these players managed to reach their half centuries while Ali Zaryab remained not out at 34.

Waqas in his innings smashed nine and Fahad followed him in the same order.

The visiting team’s main striker Albert Havey chipped in with one wicket for 11 runs while his bowling partners Thomas Gilmore and Robert Marama also grabbed one wicket each.

In their chase, Australian team could muster 88 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. They were mainly the victims of Ghulam Murtaza and Ahmed Shafiq while Salman Fayyas and Waqar Ali with one wicket each played their part. Murtaza sent back four of the visiting team batsmen while Ahmed had three. Their recognised batsmen managed to return early, leaving the entire burden on their middle order.

Timothy Devitt with 35 was the only prominent scorer and was also given consolation man of the match award for his singular performance.

Scores, Pakistan Youth XI 195-3 in 20 overs: (Waqas Ali 57, 9x4s, 28 balls, Fahad Usman 53, 9x4s, 2x6s, 30 balls, Waleed Anjum 39, 5x45s, 1×6, 28 balls, Ali Zaryab 34*, 2x4s, 2x6s, 18 balls, Albert Havey 1-11, Thomas Gilmore 1-33, Robert Marama 1-36)

Australian Army 88 in 19.4 overs: (Timothy Devitt 35, 4x4s, 2x6s, 22 balls, Ghulam Murtaza 4-15, Ahmed Shafiq 3-8, Salman Fayyas 1-8, Waqas Ali 1-11).

Man of the match: Timothy Devitt (Australian Army Team)
Umpires: Ahmed Shahab & Qaiser Waheed, Referee: Aziz-ur-Rehman Scorer: Waqar Ahmed. Later Lt Gen Sadiq Ali distributed the prizes among the players. Also present was PCB Executive Council Chairman, Najam Sathi.