Muzaffar knocks out Afghanistan’s Samir to claim Arabian Sea title belt

ISLAMABAD, Jan 22 (APP):Pakistan’s Muzaffar Khan claimed the Arabian Sea Title Belt, knocking out his opponent Ahmad Samir Dawrani of Afghanistan in the fifth round of the 10-round high-voltage super welter bout at the Liaquat Gymnasium of Pakistan Sports Complex Islamabad on Saturday.

In the first round, Muzaffar seemed somewhat in defensive mood as his opponent exhibited great aggression and agility. The 27-year-old Muzaffar kept on utilizing left punches more while his 29-year-old opponent made fine use of both right and left punches.

At the end of second round, Muzaffar hit a powerful blow to Samir, rendering him senseless for a few moments. In the third round, Muzaffar hit another powerful punch that unsettled Samir but he was quick enough to come back to his feet again.

In the fourth round, both the men exhibited great spirit as they fought with more vigor and prowess, keeping fans at the edge of their seats. At that time, it seemed that the result could go in favour of either side. But in the fifth round, it was Muzaffar who held his nerves as he hit a powerful and calculated punch to his opponent that floored him down. It was also the 10th straight win for Muzaffar in as many pro fights.

“I have been working hard for this belt for the last three years. I must acknowledge PPBL president Syed Nauman Shah, who along with his team has been working for the last 10 years to make this event happen,” a jubilant Muzaffar, who is known as Prince Khan told media after winning the fight.

“I’m thankful to my sponsors, WBC, media and all those who have been supporting and encouraging me,” he added.

Prior to the title fight boxers from Pakistan, UK and Kuwait featured in exhibition bouts in different weight divisions. Two female boxers from Pakistan also came toe to toe against each other. In all, this turned out to be a highly entertaining boxing event.

The Arabian Sea region includes 16 countries – Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, UAE, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain, Oman, Iran, Iraq, Sri Lanka, Yemen, Afghanistan, Somalia, Djibouti, Maldives and India.