ISLAMABAD, Oct 28 (APP): Sri Lankan veteran cricketer Mahela
Jayawardene has become the latest international player, 154th one,
to sign up with the Pakistan Super League (PSL) to be played in Dubai
and Sharjah next year.
Jayawardene, who represented Sri Lanka in 149 Test matches, 448
One-Day Internationals, and 55 T20Is, joins a club of more than 150
foreign players who have consented to be included in the player draft.
In an illustrious international career spanning 18 years, Jayawardene
has established himself as a leading sportsperson with great mentorship qualities. He led Sri Lanka to the finals of the 2007 ICC World Cup and
the 2012 ICC World T20.
Talking to APP, a Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) official said up
till now as many as 154 players have sent their request and made their
availability for the PSL. “The PCB will short list a total of 25 international players from 154,” he said.
He said as many as five international players will be in each team.
“A total of four players will be in the Playing Eleven while one will be
the reserve,” he said.
Chairman Governing Council Najam Sethi said on Tuesday,”We shared
a good news regarding Kumar Sangakkara and now we welcome Jayawardene
to the PSL. Jayawardene is a classic player and has added flair
to PSL.”
Jayawardene has joined fellow Sri Lankans including Kumar Sangakkara,
Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga, TM Dilshan, Thisara Perera, Ajantha
Mendis, Lahiru Thirimanne, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chamara Kapugedera,
Dinesh Chandimal, Seekuge Prasanna, K Weeraratne, Jeevan Mendis, Upul
Tharanga, Sachithra Senanayake, Dilshan Munaweera, Isuru Udana,
Kithuruwan Vithanage, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Dushmantha Chameera,
who have agreed to play PSL.
The fisrt edition of the PSL will take place from February 4 to 24,
with five city-based franchises set to take part in the event. The teams include Quetta, Lahore, Peshwar, Karachi, and Islamabad.