Cricket's qualification process for Commonwealth Games announced
File Photo

ISLAMABAD, Dec 14 (APP): The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced third round schedule of the ICC Intercontinental Cup and ICC World Cricket League Championship.

Ireland is undefeated in the Intercontinental Cup with a maximum of 40 points from its victories over UAE and Namibia after round two of seven.

They stand 14 points clear of the Netherlands in second place, with Afghanistan five points back in third place on 21 points. Hong Kong will face Scotland, while UAE play host to the Netherlands (21-24 January) before leaders Ireland travel to face Papua New Guinea in round three of the tournament in Townsville, Australia (January 31-February 3), said a ICC press release issued on Monday.

The winners of the ICC Intercontinental Cup will qualify for the ICC Test Challenge, which will be played against the 10th-ranked Test side on a home and away basis in 2018.

If the ICC Intercontinental Cup winner wins the four-match ICC Test Challenge, then it will secure Test status until the next edition, which will take place in 2022.

Meanwhile, there is a four-way tie at the top of the ICC World Cricket League Championship between Hong Kong, Kenya, Netherlands and Scotland, who are all on six points after four games.

The top four sides of a total of eight participating in the competition will progress to the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier, which will be held in Bangladesh in 2018.