APP79-20 KARACHI: August 20 - Chief of the Naval Staff Admiral Muhammad Zakaullah giving away Champion's Trophy to Muhammad Ashfaq, winner of 22nd CNS Open Golf Championship 2017 at the closing ceremony held at KGC. APP

KARACHI, Aug 20 (APP): Muhammad Ashfaq clinched the CNS Golf
Championship title whereas Shabbir Iqbal was runner up in the
professionals’ category.
A Pakistan Navy statement here on Sunday said that the closing
and prize distribution ceremony of 22nd Chief of The Naval Staff Open
Golf Championship 2017 was held at the Karachi Golf Club on Sunday.
Chief of the Naval Staff Admiral Muhammad Zakaullah was the chief
guest on the occasion.
The four-day long championship was held from August 17 to 20 and
the event was open to various categories.
The categories in the championship included 36 holes each for
caddies, semi professionals, senior professionals and junior
professionals. 18 holes matches were played for seniors and ladies, 9
holes for veterans and 72 holes each for Professionals and Amateurs.
With prize money of Rs. 7 million, the event continues to be
the highest prize money golf event of Pakistan. The prize purse
included Rs. 0.5 million for the match of KGC caddies and semi
professionals preceding the main event.
The richest-ever golf event of the country attracted more than
600 golfers from across the nation and featured the cream of national
golf, in all categories.
Commending the untiring efforts of Pakistan Navy, KGC staff and
the organizers for seamless conduct of the championship, Admiral
Muhammad Zakaullah said that the successful conduct of the 22nd CNS
Golf Championship is the manifestation of highest level of patronage
enjoyed by this game.
The Naval Chief also said that golf undoubtedly is a fast
emerging game for all ages in Pakistan and Pakistan Navy takes pride
in organizing a golf championship of this stature every year.
The chief guest appreciated the participants of 22nd CNS Golf
Championship for providing excellent entertainment to the golf
enthusiasts in Pakistan and congratulated the winners for their
remarkable success.
He also paid special gratitude to the sponsors and media for
their support to the game of Golf and Pakistan Navy’s efforts to
promote sports in the country.
The ceremony was attended by a large number of dignitaries from
Armed forces of Pakistan, civil organizations and Golfers of the
According to the organizers, the detailed result of the 22nd CNS
open Golf Championship were:
1 Professionals Muhammad Ashfaq Shabbir Iqbal
2 Senior Professionals Javed Inayat Imdad Hussain
3 Junior Professionals Zeeshan Khan Minhaj Maqsood
4 Amateurs (Gross) Ahmed Baig M Sharif
5 Amateurs (Net) Capt Imran Rana Khalid Mehmood
6 Seniors (Gross) Sohail K Rana Brig Nayyar Afzal
7 Seniors (Net) Dr Imran Ghayoor Rehan Mirza
8 Ladies (Gross) Humera Khalid Cho Young Me
9 Ladies (Net) Suneyah Osama Farah Waseem
10 Junior Class A (Gross) Waleed Chachar Luca Guidi
11 Junior Class A (Net) Hamza Gheewala Hamza Kahlon
12 Junior Class B (Gross) Yashal Shah –
13 Junior Class B (Net) Omar Intesar –