ISLAMABAD, Nov 27 (APP): Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has decided to deploy armed forces personnel and rangers for the security and peaceful conduct of local government (LG) elections in the third phase of Punjab on December 5.
The decision was taken in a meeting held under the Chairmanship of CEC, Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza Khan in order to review arrangements for the 3rd Phase of LG Elections in Punjab Province including printing of ballot papers, training of poling
staff, logistics and security issues. During the meeting, the CEC informed the participants that under Article 218(3) of the Constitution, it is the duty of Election Commission to conduct Local Government Elections in Punjab in a free, fair and transparent manner by providing level playing field to all the contesting candidates and political parties.
The Provincial Election Commissioner Punjab also briefed the
Commission about the detail of polling stations/polling booths
established for the 3rd Phase, number of contesting candidates for
each category and wards, polling staff appointed and trained for
this purpose, requirement of Army/Rangers and other security
arrangements as well as printing and transportation of ballot
The Home Secretary and IG Punjab highlighted the detail about
security arrangements and other initiatives/preventive measures that
include zero tolerance on violation of Code of Conduct, imposition
of Section 144 of Cr.PC ban on assembling more than five people near
300 meters of the polling stations, ban on victory rallies and
surety bonds etc.
The DROs of all the twelve districts informed about all the
arrangements of their respective Districts one by one and shared
their achievements and problems.
After the detailed briefing, the Commission praised the steps
taken by the PEC Punjab, Provincial Government and efforts of all
the DROs and expressed the hope that the 3rd Phase of LGEs in Punjab
will be well-organized and more systematic.
The meeting was attended by the Members of the Election
Commission, PEC Punjab, Home Secretary and IG Police Punjab, DROs of
all the twelve Districts and senior officers of the Election
Commission of Pakistan.