MIRPUR (AJK), July 21 (APP) : The preliminary unofficial
results of AJK general election landed till the last reports
came in midnight Thursday from several constituencies spoke of the landslide victory of Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) which has clinched the simple majority in the polls to the 49-seat AJK Legislative Assembly held on Thursday on all directly-contested 41 seats of the lower house of the AJK Parliament, official sources said.

PML-N resorted to a convincing defeat to its both nearest rival parties including PTI and the PPP, the incumbent ruler in Azad Jammu Kashmir, the unofficial results unveiled.

According to the preliminary unofficial results gathered from
all four constituencies of Mirpur district, PML (N)’s candidate
Ch. Muhammad Saeed won the election by defeating his nearest rival Barrister Sultan Mahmood Chaudhry, a candidate of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) from Mirpur City LA-3 constituency with a clear majority.

The PML (N)’s victorious Chaudhry Saeed secured 19,514 votes against his closest rival Barrister Sultan of PTI who bagged 16,397 votes, facing the much-expected convincing defeat in the elections.

Similarly PML (N)’s candidate Chaudhry Rukhsar Ahmed won the polls by defeating his nearest rival Chaudhry Arshad Hussain, a candidate of PTI and the brother-in-law and first cousin of Barrister Sultan from Mirpur (Khari) constituency LA-4.

Likewise, Chaudhry Masood Khalid Advocate of PML (N) also won the election from Mirpur (Dadayal) constituency LA-I.

PPP could reportedly win only seat in Mirpur district from
constituency LA-2 (Chakswari) with the party’s candidate Chaudhry Abdul Majeed, the sitting Prime Minister of AJK, who reportedly won by defeating his nearest rival Muhammad Nazir Inaqlabi of PML (N).

In Kotli district of Mirpur division, the PML-N’s candidates
Sardar Farooq Sikander, Raja Muhammad Iqbal and Raja Naseer and Raja Nisar have won the election from their respective constituencies of Nikayal, Charhoi and Sehensa and Khoi Ratta.

Rest of only seat in Kotli district were reportedly won by
the joint candidate of PTI/ Muslim Conference alliance, according to the unofficial results.

In Bhimber district, the candidates of PML-N Col (Retd) Waqar Noor and Ch. Tariq Farooq reportedly won the election respectively from Barnala and Bhimbher City constituencies according to the unofficial results landed till last reports came in.

Similarly, PML (N) is also ahead in Muzaffarabad and Poonch

Former Prime Ministers of AJK including the sitting PML-N AJK
President Raja Farooq Haider Khan and Sardar Attique Ahmed Khan, candidate of Muslim Conference have won the election from their respective parent constituencies of Chakar in Hattiyan Bala district and Dheerkot in Poonch district respectively.

The sitting Secretary General of PML-N and former Speaker
AJK Legislative Assembly Shah Ghulam Qadir has also won the election defeating his nearest rival Mian Waheed of PPP, also sitting minister, from Neelam valley constituency.

More results are awaited.