Federal Minister for Human Rights, Dr, Shireen Mazari

ISLAMABAD, Jan 22 (APP):The Parliamentary Committee on Appointment of Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and Members of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Tuesday unanimously elected Dr Shireen Mehrunnisa Mazari, as its chairperson.
Muhammad Mian Soomro proposed the name of Dr Mazari FOR chairperson of the committee while Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah seconded her candidature.

The National Assembly secretary, who earlier briefed the committee members about the procedure for election of chairperson, congratulated the newly elected chairperson on behalf of the speaker and assured her full support from the NA Secretariat for effective and efficient functioning of the committee.
Dr Mazari, after the election, expressed her gratitude to the members for posing confidence in her and assured them to run the business of the committee with consensus.
The meeting was attended by MNAs Muhammad Mian Soomro, Omer Ayub Khan, Dr. Shireen Mehrunnisa Mazari, Syed Fakhar Imam, Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah and Shahida Akhtar Ali, and Senators Muhammad Azam Khan Swati, Naseebullah Bazai and Dr Sikandar Mandhro, besides senior officers of the National Assembly Secretariat.