IED bomb targeting CTD vehicle, injures four persons in city

ISLAMABAD, June 22 (APP): The Senate Standing Committee on Information Technology and Telecommunication Wednesday constituted a three-member sub-committee to formulate recommendations on the Prevention of Electronic Crimes Bill-2016 within 60 days.

Chairing the committee meeting, Senator Shahi Syed nominated Osman Saifullah Khan, Syed Shibli Faraz and Ghous Muhammad Khan Niazi for the sub-committee.

He directed the newly-formed committee to thoroughly look into the Electronic Crimes Bill 2016 passed by the National Assembly and the other bill moved by Senator Karim Ahmed Khawaja to the committee.

The chairman also directed the committee to take on board all the stakehodlers and furnish recommendations to the committee within the given time.

Shahi Syed also asked all the stakeholders to approach the sub-committee and submit their recommendations in writing so they could be finalized.

Minister of State for Information Technology Anusha Rehman said that work on the bill was started in 2009 and it was presented in National Assembly after evolving consensuses among all the political parties in
the parliament.

However, she said, suggestions from the Senate in the bill would be welcomed.

Senator Rehman Malik suggested the government for making Data Protection Act before deliberating on the bill. “It is an important bill and it should not be passed in hurry,” he said.

On the issue of TIP Cooperative Housing Society, the minister said that the matter had been referred to the National Accountability Bureau for inquiry.