MUZAFFARABAD, July 21 (APP): The polling process started on Thursday at 8 am in 41 constituencies of the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly simultaneously.

The polling, being held at 5,429 polling stations, will continue till 5 pm without any break, while the voters present in the premises of polling stations at the closing time will be allowed to cast their vote.

As many as 328 candidates are contesting from 29 constituencies of AJK’s ten districts, while 99 are in the run from 12 constituencies of Kashmiri refugees, spread over four provinces of Pakistan.

The total number of registered voters is 2,674,586 including 1,483,747 men and 1,190,839, while 23,394 polling staff including 4,462 presiding officers, 6,310 polling officers and 12,622 polling assistants are performing duties at the polling stations.

ALSO READ  An attractive and eye catching view of freeze water due to temperature below zero degree near AttaAbad Lake

Special security arrangements have been made to ensure conduct of the election in a free, fair, transparent and peaceful manner.