MUZAFFARABAD, Jul 21 (APP): Pakistan Muslim League(N) and Pakistan Tehreek i Insaf (PTI) won two seats each for Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly as the initial results were announced by the Election Commission AJK here on Thursday.
Chief Election Commissioner Justice Ghulam Mustafa Mughal announced the first result according to which Asad Aleem Shah of Pakistan Muslim League (N) won seat for Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly by securing 1026 votes in constituency LA-39 Kashmir Valley 4 against Azhar Hussain Gilani of PPP, who achieved 893 votes.
Chaudhry Muhammad Saeed of Pakistan Muslim League (N) won seat
for Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly constituency LA-3 Mirpur III
by securing 19514 votes against Barrister Sultan Mehmood Chaudhry of
PTI, who received 16397 votes.
Abdul Majid Khan of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf won the seat for
Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly constituency LA-41, Kashmir
Valley 6 by securing 2687 votes against the candidate of Jamaat-e-Islami Noor-ul-Baari, who received 980 votes.
Ghulam Mohiuddin Dewan of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf won seat for
Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly constituency LA-37, Kashmir
Valley (2) by securing 1536 votes against candidate of Pakistan
Muslim League (N) Ghulam Abbas Mir, who got 909 votes.
A total of 2,674,586 registered voters including 1,228,930
male and 1,006,772 female voters exercised their right.
According to Chief Election Commissioner of Azad Jammu
Kashmir Justice Ghulam Mustafa Mughal, overall polling in the
elections remained free, fair and peaceful except few minor
unpleasant incidents reported at some polling stations in different
More than 22,000 army troops were deployed at polling stations
in addition to police and other security forces to avert any disturbance in the polling process.
The nine-hour polling process ended at 5 p.m. as per the
schedule announced by the Election Commission.
However, the voters present in the premises of some polling
stations at the closing time were allowed to cast their votes.
The election commission had made elaborate administrative and
security measures to conduct the polls in a smooth and peaceful
As many as 23,394 members of polling staff including 4,462
presiding officers, 6,310 polling officers and 12,622 polling assistants performed duties at 5,429 polling stations in 41 constituencies of the AJK Legislative Assembly.
423 candidates contested in 29 constituencies of AJK’s ten
districts, while 99 were in the run from 12 constituencies for Kashmiri refugees, spread over four provinces of Pakistan.
43 political parties contested the elections for 49-seat AJK
Legislative Assembly.
Four former prime ministers of Azad Kashmir took part in the