ISLAMABAD, June 17 (APP): Minister for Information, Broadcasting and National Heritage Senator Pervaiz Rashid on Friday was elected Chairman of Parliamentary Committee on appointment of Chief Election Commissioner and Members of Election Commission.

The first meeting of the committee was held here in which Parliamentarians including Arshad Laghari, Junaid Anwar, Shazia Mari, Shah Mehmood Qureshi and Yousaf Talpur, participated.

MNA Junaid Anwar had proposed the name of Pervaiz Rashid for Chairman and Yousaf Talpur seconded this proposal.

Talking to media, Chairman of Committee, Pervaiz Rashid thanked all the representatives of political parties who reposed confidence in him.

He said electoral reforms have been introduced for ensuring an independent Election Commission. Efforts would be made to appoint the members of Election Commission after evolving consensus, he added.

ALSO READ  An attractive night view of lights in Murree City

He said the Committee will strive to constitute an independent and impartial Election Commission, having confidence and trust of people.