PAS new council assumes office on Friday
File Photo

ISLAMABAD, Jan 1 (APP): The new council of Pakistan Academy of Sciences (PAS) took over the office on Friday for three-year tenure (2021-2023).

PAS is governed by a council that includes its president, two vice presidents, secretary general, associate secretary general and treasurer.

The previous council has completed the tenure of three-year (2018-2020) successfully.

The newly elected office bearers are Prof. Dr. Khalid Mahmood Khan (President), Prof. Dr. Bina Shaheen Siddiqui (Vice President), Prof. Dr. Riaz Hussain Qureshi (Vice President), Prof. Dr. Tasawar Hayat (Secretary General), Prof. Dr. Ikram ul Haq (Associate Secretary General) and Prof. Dr. Amin Badshah (Treasurer).

Distinguished scientists who have made outstanding contributions in science and technology become the fellow. Scientists who have substantially contributed for the development of science in Pakistan may become a Foreign Fellow whereas, young scientists (under 40 years age) as Member of the academy.

The goals of PAS are to promote higher studies and research on pure and applied sciences in Pakistan and to disseminate scientific knowledge and to establish and maintain association and relations between the Pakistani scientists and the international scientists, meetings and unions of scientists, and between Pakistani scientific activities and the activities of scientists in other countries.

Pakistan Academy of Sciences (PAS) is a non-governmental and non-political supreme scientific body of distinguished scientists in the country.

The Government of Pakistan has given the consultative and advisory status to the academy on all problems relating to the development of scientific efforts in the country and generally on such matters of national and international importance in the field of science as may be referred to the academy.