Parliamentary panel confirms four names as ECP members

ISLAMABAD, July 25 (APP): Parliamentary Committee on Appointment of the Chief Election Commissioner and Members of the Election Commission on Monday confirmed the names of four new members of the Election Commission
of Pakistan (ECP) and sent a letter in this regard to the Prime Minister.

The committee met here under the chairmanship of Minister for Information, Broadcasting and National Heritage Senator Pervaiz Rashid.

Talking to mediamen after the meeting, the minister announced the names representing all the four provinces. They included Justice (retd) Shakeel Ahmed Baloch from Balochistan, Justice (retd) Mst Irshad Qaiser
from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Justice (retd) Altaf Ibrahim Qureshi from Punjab, and former federal secretary Ghaffar Soomro from Sindh.

Pervaiz Rashid said the committee members belonging to Awami National Party and Pakistan tehreek-i-Insaf abstained from the meeting though they did not oppose the nomination of new ECP members.

ALSO READ  An attractive view of sunset over the skies of Federal Capital

Later talking to newsmen at his chamber, the minister said that the committee discussed all the recommended names.

The names of all the new members were included in the lists of both the government and the opposition.

Responding to a tweet of PTI Chairman, he said Imran Khan should read the Constitution as the committee followed the constitutional provisions in finalizing the names of new members.

“Imran Khan is unaware about constitutional requirements as his party’s nominee is ineligible for the EC member`s slot due to overage,” he added.

He said two of the four new members would retire after
two-and-a-half years while the two would complete five-year term to ensure continuity like the Senate.

ALSO READ  An attractive view of clouds hovering over the skies of Federal Capital

To a question, he said if the ‘experiences’ of PTI Chairman Imran Khan were followed, the ECP members’ names would not have been finalized and if finalized then ECP would have been dissolved like the PTI election commission.

He said the process for the appointment of the new ECP members was done as per the Constitution and overwhelming majority of the committee members voted in favour of the nominated members, with only two

He said the AJK people had rejected the PTI due to Imran Khan’s negative politics.

To a question about Azad Jammu & Kashmir (AJK) elections, he said the PML-N did not spend even a single penny to purchase votes while Rs 6.5 million rupees deposited by the candidates were lying in the party account.