ISLAMABAD, July 21 (APP): The Parliamentary Committee
meeting will be held on Monday to finally decide the names of members of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

Talking to media outside the Parliament House, Minister
for Finance Senator Ishaq Dar and Leader of the Opposition Syed Khursheed Shah on Thursday said that efforts will be made to have unanimously one name from both government and opposition sides.

Senator Ishaq Dar said that the procedure of appointment
of members of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) will be held in accordance of rules.

He said the consensus of the prime minister and the
opposition leader was necessary to fill such vacancies.
He said that all names received from government and
opposition parties from all four provinces will be sent to
the Speaker National Assembly office and then would be
refered to the parliamentary committee for final approval.

He said that efforts were being made to follow the
constitutional limit of 45 day to notify the names on
July 25 following the due procedure and law.

He said that several joint meetings of government
and opposition were held to resolve the matter in a positive
way and expressed the hope that names will be finalized
with consensus.

Senator Ishaq Dar said virtually the committee starts
its work when it receives names of members from opposition and governments of four provinces. He added names included retired judges and bureaucrats of grade 22 or above.

Syed Khursheed Shah said realizing its national
responsibility, the opposition has tried its level best
to present the name of those who were non controversial.
He added names of only those persons had been included
who were transparent and without having any political

He said that the opposition had finalized all names
after detailed discussion with all opposition parties. He
prayed for success of the whole process.

He said that they had sustained heavy pressure in
finalization of names from opposition to ensure that names
were non controversial, rather than controversial.

He said that opposition had collected three names
from each province and the process was completed with
satisfaction of all nine opposition parties including PTI
and MQM.