Newly-elected members of AJK Council take oath

ISLAMABAD, July 27 (APP): Minister for Kashmir Affairs Chaudhry Barjees Ahmed Tahir on Wednesday administered oath to four newly-elected members of Azad Jammu and Kashmir Council.

The members included Pakistan Peoples Party’s Akhtar Pervaiz Awan and Muhammad Younus Mir, All Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference’s Mukhtar Ahmad Abbasi and Malik Pervez Awan of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz.

Besides others, the oath taking ceremony was attended by former members of AJK Kashmir Council and officials of Azad Kashmir Council Secretariat.

Speaking at the ceremony, Barjees Tahir said Azad Kashmir’s administrative affairs were being run under the interim Constitution Act 1974 and expressed confidence that the newly-elected members would use their powers given to them in the Act and resolve the problems faced by Kashmiris.

He said Kashmiri people were deeply attached with Pakistan and they were sacrificing their lives for their fundamental right to self-determination.

He said the elected members were also responsible to highlight the Kashmir issue globally and ask the international community to play its role in resolving the long-standing issue in accordance with the wishes and aspirations of Kashmiri people Earlier, `Fateha’ was offered for the martyrs of Kashmir.