JKLF condemns large-scale arrests in IOK

ISLAMABAD, Oct 2 (APP): Jammu Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF) has condemned the ongoing spree of arrests and booking of political activists under draconian Public Safety Act (PSA) in Indian Occupied Kashmir (IOK).

According to Kashmir Media on Sunday, a JKLF spokesman in a statement issued in Srinagar termed the arrests and night raids as clear sign of frustration among puppet authorities.

He said “Police arrested JKLF Kulgam district vice-president Assadullah Sheikh at Ramban when he was travelling along with his fruit vehicle towards Jammu.

He was brought to police station Devsar and immediately booked under PSA and shifted to Kuthwa jail.”

The JKLF also condemned the arrest the organizer of a religious organization Moulana Arshad Qadri.

“Ailing chairman JKLF Muhammad Yasin Malik is languishing in jail from July 8, and after his arrest he has been kept in solitary confinement,” the statement said.

He said JKLF Zonal President Noor Muhammad Kalwal and party activists, Fayaz Ahmad Mir from Ganderbal and Shabbir Ahmad Ganaie of Kakapora Pulwama, Mushtaq Ahmad Mir of Kupwara, and Assadullah Sheikh after being booked under PSA were shifted to Jammu.

“The JKLF vice chairman advocate Bashir Ahmad Butt along with zonal vice president Muhammad Yasin Butt and senior member Muhammad Amin Magloo are lodged at Rajbagh police station,” he added.

“He said JKLF Vice Chairman Showkat Ahmad Bakhshi is lodged at Humhama police station, Ganderbal district president Bashir Ahmad Rather at Ganderbal police station while zonal organizer Bashir Ahmad Kashmiri is detained at Kothibagh police station in Srinagar,” he said.

“Thousands of young and old people, students and innocent boys and children have been arrested so far and many have been shifted to different outside jails under PSA,” the JKLF said while condemning the continuous curfew in Kishtwar and other areas of Pirpanjal and Chenab valley.

The spokesman also condemned the continued house arrest of Syed Ali Gilani and detention of other leaders including Mirwaiz Umar Farooq, Shabbir Ahmad Shah, Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai, Muhammad Altaf Shah, Ghulam Nabi Zaki, Ayaz Akbar, Doctor G M Hubbi and Advocate Muhammad Shafi Reshi.

Sponsored Ad