FAISALABAD, Jun 6 (APP): Federal Minister for Planning, Development and Reforms Ahsan Iqbal on Monday said that political stability, continuity in policies and quality education were vital to make economic growth.

Addressing launching ceremony of the Young Development Corps (YDC) at the University of Agriculture Faisalabad, he said that political instability and discontinuation of policies in the past played havoc with national development.

He emphasized for utilizing knowledge and research in order to serve
the humanity.

He said that the vice chancellors of the universities worked as core
commander in the process of the development and prosperity.

He said that this year, the economy has registered its highest growth
rate (4.7pc). He said that 10,000 MW would be added to the system by 2018 and government was making the huge investment in energy, infrastructure, human resources and other sectors.

He said the China Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) was the hallmark
step that would help the country to boost the economic activities.

He said that the government was making all-out efforts to uplift the
agriculture sector and to address the problems of the farming community.

He said that in the budget, the government has decreased prices of inputs and waved off GST on pesticides in order to make it available to the farming community.

He said that agriculture sector had been facing many challenges
including the climate change and low per acre productivity for which enhanced effort were needed to address the issue.

He said that last year, the cotton crops faced the significance reduction due to climate changes.

Ahsan said that image of any country was very important but some elements were trying to sabotage it.

UAF Vice Chancellor Prof Dr Iqrar Ahmad khan lauded the steps being
taken on the part of government to uplift the agriculture and education sector.

He thanked the federal government for establishing a hostel of 1000 students, IT Centre, and new digital library.

The cabinet of Young Development Corps including President Ammar Tufail  Vice President Ayesha Inayat, General Secretary Ayesha Rasool and Muhammad Media Relation Officer Rizwan also took the oath on the occasion.