ISLAMABAD, Jun 29 (APP): The Cabinet Committee on Energy Wednesday reviewed progress on the ongoing power projects to assess whether the time-lines of the schedule of activities were being observed.

Finance Minister Senator Mohammad Ishaq Dar chaired the meeting
which also reviewed the progress of on-going power sector projects in
the country and the projects in pipeline.

Federal Minister for Water and Power, Khawaja Muhammad Asif,
Federal Minister for Petroleum and Natural Resources, Shahid Khaqan
Abbasi and Secretary to Prime Minister and senior officials of the
relevant ministries attended the meeting.

Secretary Water and Power briefed the meeting on the energy
projects and also dilated on arrangements for evacuation of the
electricity to be produced in future.

Secretary Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Resources gave an
overview of the supply of natural gas and fuel that would be needed to facilitate the upcoming power projects.

Secretary Water and Power also briefed the meeting about the
current state of power generation in the country.

He said that in line with the Prime Minister’s instructions, maximum facilitation has been provided to general public during the holy month of Ramazan by ensuring smooth and uninterrupted supply of
electricity at the time of Sehar and Iftar.

A proper mechanism has been in place to address complaints of any breakdown, he said adding despite severe heat wave experienced in early May and the resultant increased power usage, load management has been carried out with due care.

Furthermore no power unit suffered any shut down this summer which helped maintain supply of electricity to the optimum possible level.

The Finance Minister, on the occasion said that the Prime Minister
had desired a detailed update on the progress of ongoing projects and emphasized expediting work on these projects.

He directed the Ministry of Water and Power to ensure completion
of on-going projects as per schedule. A detailed report containing up-to-date progress would be submitted to the Prime Minister.