Cabinet approves basic pay revision of public office holders, MPs after 13 years

ISLAMABAD, Nov 23 (APP): The Federal Cabinet Wednesday approved
revision of basic pay of some public office holders and members of parliament (MPs) after 13 years.
The basic pay of Senate Chairman and National Assembly Speaker has been increased from Rs 119,008 plus two ad hoc reliefs of Rs 31,750
and Rs 11,901 to Rs 205,000. Similarly, the basic pay of Senate Deputy Chairman and NA Deputy Speaker had been revised from Rs 110,085 plus two ad hoc reliefs of Rs 29,360 and Rs 11,009 to Rs 185,000.
The basic pay of members of parliament has been increased from Rs 44,630 plus two ad hoc reliefs of Rs 11,903 and Rs 4,463 to Rs 150,000.
Likewise, the basic pay of federal ministers has been revised from Rs 114,897 plus one ad hoc relief of Rs 11,490 to Rs 200,000.
Similarly, the basic pay of ministers of state has been raised from Rs 106,281 plus one ad hoc relief of Rs 10,626 to Rs 180,000.
Briefing media persons after the cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, Minister of State for Information, Broadcasting and National Heritage Marriyum Aurangzeb said the revision of basic pays of MPs and public office holders had been pending for over a decade.
The revised salaries, she said, were inclusive of the ad hoc reliefs of 2010 and 2016.
She said it was very difficult to meet home expenses with monthly salary of only Rs 44,000. FBR and Election Commission figures depicted that most of the members of the parliament belonged to the middle class.
The total impact of pay revision would be Rs 400 million per annum and the increase would be with effect from October 1, 2016, she added.
Marriyum Aurangzeb said the cabinet also gave approval to amendments in the Public Procurement Regulatory Authority (PPRA) rules to make them more transparent.
The prime minister also constituted a committee headed by Railway Minister Khawaja Saad Rafique with ministers Khawaja Asif, Zahid Hamid, and Abdul Qadir Baloch and the secretary finance as its members to review the PPRA rules. The committee would present its report within a month, she added.
The minister said the cabinet also approved empowering the Health Ministry to import vaccine for immunization and anti TB medicines in emergency situations.
Moreover, she said, the cabinet gave approval to nine agreements signed with six countries, including Azerbaijan, South Africa, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Maldives and Malaysia.
The agreements were on issues of disaster management, cooperation in defence sector, cooperation in information technology, combating corruption and exchange and training of medical practitioners.
She said the decisions of the Economic Coordination Committee (ECC) of the Cabinet were also approved and it was decided that the ECC decisions would be circulated to all the ministries.
The minister said the cabinet also discussed the issue of Afghan refugees’ repatriation and it was decided that by December 2017 they would have to leave Pakistan.
To a question, she said the cabinet strongly condemned the Indian aggression on Line of Control and Working Boundary, and offered Fateha for those martyred by the Indian shelling.
She said the government was taking up the matter of Indian aggression at all levels and as Information Minister she also condemned the Indian attacks in the strongest possible terms.

ALSO READ  President reminds world to take respectful care of Muslims' feelings about Holy Prophet Muhammad (PBUH)