ISLAMABAD, Nov 9 (AP): Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N)
candidate for the office of Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq regained the post by securing 268 votes while his opponent candidate of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Shafqat Mehmood managed to get only 31 votes.
In total, 300 votes were polled, out of which 299 were valid while one
was invalid.
The result was announced by Acting Speaker Murtaza Javed Abbasi here on
Monday after completion of vote counting process.
The office of the NA speaker has been lying vacant since August 22 when
an election tribunal declared Sadiq’s election from Lahore’s NA-122 seat in the May 2013 election as null and void.
The PML-N candidate Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, who was also supported by all the
opposition parties except the PTI, was re-elected as speaker National Assembly.
Ayaz Sadiq had submitted his nomination papers on Sunday morning for the
post of speaker and after scrutiny, the nomination papers of the three contesting candidates” Ayaz Sadiq, Shafqat Mehmood and GG Jamal” for the National Assembly speakership were declared valid. However, later GG Jamal withdrew his candidature in favour of Ayaz Sadiq
Ayaz Sadiq was reelected as MNA form NA-22 Lahore seat in the
by-election held on 11 October, 2015.