PML N wins LA 39, LA 40 seats

MUZAFFARABAD, July 16 (APP): As many as 427 candidates of different political parties as well as independent ones, are in the run for the upcoming Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) Legislative Assembly elections, scheduled for July 21.

According to the final list issued by the AJK Election
Commission, 328 contestants will be vying from 29 constituencies of AJK’s nine districts, while 99 will be competing from 12 constituencies of Kashmiri refugees, spreading over four provinces of Pakistan.

The highest number of candidates in the run is from AJK’s
Capital Muzaffarabad where 67 candidates are in the run for the six constituencies, which have a total of 429,276 votes, including 191,112 female votes.

President PML-N Azad Kashmir Raja Farooq Haider is contesting from LA-XXVIII, Muzaffarabad-V, where 12 other candidates are also in the run.

Muzaffarabad is followed by district Poonch where 51 candidates from four constituencies will be trying their luck. The total registered voters in district Poonch are 310,968, which include 141,334 female voters.

Candidate-wise Mirpur district stands at number three where
48 contenders will be challenging each other from four constituencies, which have a total of 233,518 voters – 127,274 males and 106,244 females.

AJK Prime Minister Chaudhry Abdul Majeed is contesting from
LA-II, Mirpur-II, where in total 16 candidates are in the run.
While President Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Azad Kashmir
Barrister Sultan Mehmood Chaudhry is in the run from LA-III,
Mirpur-III, where in total seven candidates are contesting.
A total of 47 candidates will be competing from five
constituencies of District Kotli, which also surpasses
AJK’s all districts in number of voters with 442,839 people
(246,230 males and 196,609 females) to exercise their right to vote.

Sardar Farooq Sikandar Khan, the son of top PML-N Azad
Kashmir leader Sardar Sikander Hayat is contesting from
LA-IX, Kotli-II.

From the three constituencies of Bhimber district, which
have a total of 243,165 votes, 45 candidates are in the run.
District Sudhnoti with 166,143 votes will see 29 candidates
facing each other from its two constituencies, whereas from
district Bagh, which has three constituencies for its 232,572
voters, a total of 25 candidates are in the run.

All Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference’s President and
former AJK Prime Minister Sardar Attiq Ahmed Khan is vying
from LA-XIII, Bagh-I.

District Neelam and district Havelli (Kahuta) have one
constituency each for their 96,584 and 80,637 voters, respectively.

From Neelam eight candidates are competing, while the same number of candidates is also in run from Havelli.

A total of 99 contestants are running for the 12 constituencies, spreading over four provinces of Pakistan where overall 438,884 people will cost their votes.