AJK Legislative Assembly and Council joint sitting summoned

MIRPUR (AJK), July 24 (APP): Candidates started filing nomination papers with the AJK Election commission in Muzaffarabad on Sunday to contest election to eight reserved seats of the AJK Legislative Assembly including five meant for women and one each reserved for technocrats, ulema /mashaikh and overseas Kashmiris, AJK Election Commission sources said.

“The nomination papers for the reserved seats could be filed by 10 pm on July 25 (Monday)”, said Secretary AJK Election Commission Mian Naeem Ullah while talking to APP on Sunday.

“Nomination papers could be withdrawn on July 28”, he said.
Polling to the reserved seats will be held on July 29 in Azad Jammu Kashmir Legislative Assembly hall.
The reserved seats will be filled in by the electoral college comprising all 41 newly elected members of the Azad Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Assembly through the secret ballot to be held in the State Legislative Assembly complex in Muzaffarabad, another official source said.

According to the official results, PML (N) has won 32 seats, PPP and Muslim Conference three seats each, Pakistan Tehreek e Insaaf 2 seats and only seats was won by independent candidate on directly-contested elections to all 41 seats of the AJK Legislative Assembly, held on July 21.

It may be added that the PML (N) AJK , which has emerged as the single largest party in 49-seat AJK Legislative assembly lower house of the AJK parliament, may win at least seven out of eight reserved seats in the elections as long as the minimum votes are required by a candidate to win the election to the reserved seats under the constitution “interim Act 1974 of AJK.