11 Integrated Tourism Zones in KPK, 8 in Punjab to be established to promote tourism, PM told

ISLAMABAD, Apr 11 (APP):Prime Minister Imran Khan, during a briefing on Thursday, was informed that 11 Integrated Tourism Zones would be established in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and replicating the model 08 zones would also be set up in Punjab. 

These Integrated Tourism Zones would not only serve to showcase tourist potential of the country and promote tourism but would also ensure preservation of natural beauty, biodiversity, forests cover and promotion of eco-tourism at the newly established tourist resorts.

The meeting was attended by Minister for Information and Broadcasting Ch. Fawad Hussain, Special Assistant to PM on Overseas Pakistanis Sayed Zulfiqar Abbas Bukhari, Chairman Board of Investment Haroon Sharif, Punjab Minister for Tourism Yasir Humayun, KPK Minister for Tourism Atif Khan, KPK Minister for Local Government Shahram Khan Taraki, KPK Minister for Law and Parliamentary Affairs, Sultan Muhammad Khan, KPK Secretary Tourism Rashid Mehmood Langrial and senior officers.

ALSO READ  640 new coronavirus cases reported; one death in past 24 hours

The Prime Minister was apprised about new initiatives being taken to promote tourism in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Punjab.

A detailed briefing was also made about the draft Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Tourism Act 2019.

Senior Minister Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Atif Khan shared salient features of the draft legislation on tourism and informed the meeting that under the ambit of this upcoming law exclusive jurisdiction would be clearly chalked out to avoid coordination problems and to overcome low performance capacity of organizations.

It was further informed that private sector would play a leading role in development of tourism while the government would provide an enabling environment and act as a facilitator.

The Integrated Tourism Zones would include Gabeen Jabba, Swat, (elevation 9,200 feet above sea level), Mankyal, Swat (8,700 ft), Bayon, Swat (11,000 ft), Bir Mughlasht, Chitral (9,000 ft), Golain, Chitral (10,400), Qaqlasht, Chitral (7,500 ft), Burwai, Naran (10,000 ft) and Mahaban, Buner (6,600 ft).

ALSO READ  640 new coronavirus cases reported; one death in past 24 hours

The Prime Minister was briefed that internationally successful models were being followed for promoting tourism in the country.
Yasir Humayun, Minister Tourism Punjab apprised that eight Integrated Tourism Zones would be established in Punjab. 

Prime Minister Imran Khan said that with the development of tourist resorts and provision of required facilities, the tourism sector would receive tremendous boost. 

He directed that a comprehensive website be launched immediately identifying all tourist zones being set up with detailed information for local as well as foreign tourists.