ISLAMABAD, June 27 (APP): Five Pakistani companies, under the auspices of Trade Development Authority of Pakistan (TDAP) participated in the 23rd edition of Southern African International Trade Exhibition for Retail Products (SAITEX) and Africa Big Seven (AB7), held, recently in Johannesburg, South Africa from June 19-21.

“This is the largest show of Sub-Saharan Africa wherein more than 1200 exhibitors from 46 countries including China, India, South Africa, Malaysia, Vietnam, Turkey,Mauritius, Namibia etc participated”, a statement of the TDAP issued on Monday.

According to the statement of the TDAP, the target of the fair was the retails sector with focus on importers, agents, distributors, wholesalers. International business interest in Africa is all time high as the research proves that seven out of world’s top ten fastest growing economies are in Africa.

From Pakistan leading companies like Hilal Food, Ismail Industries, Reem Rice,Crown Leather and Best Clean Textiles are participating in the exhibition.

South Africa is the most important and largest trading partner of Pakistan in the African Continent of 54 countries.

South Africa is the 2nd largest economy of Africa with GDP of 390 billion US$ and total trade of US$ 190 billion.

Traditionally, it is called as gateway to Africa and it plays critical role in the socio-politico and economic milieu of African continent. South Africa is member of numerous preferential trading blocs and total South African imports were US $ 85 billion (2014).

High Commission of Pakistan has made all the arrangements for holding this exhibition including reservation of space, construction of stall, reception of the exhibitors,their B2B meetings, marketing of the show amongst the local business community etc. Mr.Najm us Saqib, High Commissioner of Pakistan for South Africa inaugurated the exhibition on 19 June, 2016 and assured all the exhibitors of fullest cooperation to make their visit productive and beneficial. Qamar Zaman, Commercial Secretary also accompanied the High Commissioner.