ISLAMABAD, Dec 3 (APP): Chaudhry Shahzad Ali Akbar representing the Murad Awan Group of Associated Press of Pakistan (APP) has been elected President in the Collective Bargaining Agents (CBA) election for the year 2016-18.

According to Official results announced by the Election Committee of APP on Friday Inam Ullah Khan was elected for the position of general secretary.

Other elected members include Asif Ilyas Vice President, Asif Jalal Joint Secretary and Zia Ullah Khan Press Secretary. All these candidates were backed by Murad Awan Group.

While rival Adil Group also won 9 seats out of total 23. Aftab Zahoor
was elected as Senior Vice President, Zaheer-ud-Din babar as Jiont Secretary and Nadeem Iqbal as Finance Secretary. Six winning Exective Members of Adil Group are Shahhid Ali Butt, Arsheed Majeed Chaudhry, Sharjeel Amjid Rao, Rizwan Naizi, Ihsanullah, Zarar Farid.

Out of the 13 Executive Members seats Murad Awan Group bagged seven seats including Asif Ali Raja, Hussain Badshah, Raja Muhammad Asif, Andleeb Khan, Muhammad Khalil  Raja, Muhammad Shafique Raja and Muhammad Zafran.

Employees of APP from Islamabad, Peshawar, Quetta, Gilgit-Baltistan (GB) and Mirpur (Azad Jammu and Kashmir) took part in the voting process. The turnout remained 94 per cent.