Shahid Khaqan Abbasi elected PM


ISLAMABAD, Aug 1 (APP): Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz’s
candidate Shahid Khaqan Abbasi on Tuesday was elected Prime
Minister of Pakistan with a clear majority vote.
During the election in the National Assembly, he secured
221 votes, whereas Pakistan Peoples Party’s Naveed Qamar
obtained 47 votes, joint candidate of Awami Muslim League
Pakistan, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and PML-Q Sheikh Rashid
33 votes and Sahibzada Tariqullah of Jamaat Islami four votes.
“Shahid Khaqan Abbasi is declared elected as Prime
Minister of the Islamic republic of Pakistan,” Speaker Ayaz
Sadiq announced after the counting.
Khaqan Abbasi will take oath as the country’s 28th
Prime Minister later Tuesday night.
Profile of Shahid Khaqan Abbasi:-
Khaqn Abbasi, an electrical engineer with a master’s degree from
George Washington University, served as the minister of petroleum
and natural resources in former Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif’s
third term, which ended on July 28, 2017.
He remained mostly unbeaten in his political career, having only
lost to the PPP candidate Ghulam Murtaza Satti in 2002. Except this
defeat, he won every election he contested from 1988 till 2013.
He was first elected as Member of the National Assembly in 1988,
after the death of his father, Khaqan Abbasi – the then minister of production. After his election in the 1990 general elections for
the second time, he was made parliamentary secretary for defence.
In the 1993 general elections, he was elected to parliament
once more and held office as the chairman of the National Assembly’s
Standing Committee on Defence.
Abbasi was elected again, for the fourth time, in 1997, and
served as Chairman of Pakistan International Airlines from 1997 to
1999 in Nawaz Sharif’s second term.
The interim premier briefly held the positions of Minister for
Commerce and Ministry of Defense Production in Yousuf Raza Gilani’s
government in 2008.