Saad suggests Senate, NA bodies’ joint meeting on PR land utilization

Profile Picture

ISLAMABAD, Nov 17 (APP): Minister for Railways Khawaja Saad Rafique
Thursday suggested to convene a joint meeting of Senate and National Assembly Standing Committees on Railways for recommendations on better utilization of its commercial land.
“All the recommendations given by the joint meeting will be implemented in letter and spirit to ensure transparency in commercialization of Railways land,” he said in a meeting of the Senate Standing Committee on Railways.
The committee meeting, chaired by Sardar Fateh Muhammad Muhammad Hassani, also reviewed ML-I track and Railways different projects under the Pakistan-China Economic Corridor (CPEC).
Saad Rafique said the Ministry was looking into its CPEC related projects and would finalize them after complete scrutiny for maximum benefit.
He said loan would be taken from the Asian Development Bank for
doubling the Lahore-Peshawar track, while initial estimate of upgrading the railways system on Peshawar-Karachi track was 8.2 billion dollar.
The minister said feasibility report of ML-II, the part of CPEC, would
complete in three months, for which international tendering would be held.
“The track will be built on BOT basis or through a joint venture.”
He said feasibility study of Gwadar-Baseemah track would complete in February, 2017 and the Ministry would approach the Balochistan Chief Minister for acquiring the required land.
He said 171 acres of land had already been acquired in Gwadar.
He said Rs 130 million dues would be paid to the Balochistan
government soon.
Saad Rafique said that Pakistan Railways would set up its office in
Gwadar for future planning, adding that the ministry was in the process of acquiring land for establishing railway terminal, yards, tracks and office in the deep seaport city.
Earlier, the committee expressed concern over the increased number
of train accidents and sought a detailed briefing on the accidents in next meeting.
Among others, the meeting was attended by Senators Taj Muhammad Afridi, Taj Haider, Samina Abid and Muhammad Javed Abbasi besides senior officials of the Ministry of Railways.