PSL Replacement Draft finalized


LAHORE, Jan 23 (APP): A replacement draft for the HBL Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2017 edition was finalized here on Monday to facilitate the inclusion of replacement foreign players after some of the players picked in the original draft dropped out of the competition due to injuries, unavailability, international commitments or bans.
Team managements of four out of the five franchises were present at the National Cricket Academy where the picks were made after consent of all participants, said a spokesman of Pakistan Cricket Board.
“Karachi Kings have their original quota of foreign players intact
hence the franchise management wasn’t present at the Replacement Draft. Kings have given their consent to the picks made by the other franchises”, he added.
Islamabad United (IU) have decided to retain their West Indian all-rounder Andre Russell in their team though Russell awaits clearance after his doping case hearing, a verdict on his hearing is expected to arrive within the next fortnight. If banned, IU will be given the option to
immediately replace Russell, he added.
“Lahore Qalandars had to make three changes to their squad, as have Peshawar Zalmi, who have withheld one pick to be made within the next 24-hours”, he asserted.
He said that last year’s runner-up Quetta Gladiators have made four changes while Islamabad United and Karachi Kings have their original picks in place. The latter picks from PZ will only be activated and eligible to play once the number of foreign players in the team goes under the minimum quota allowed by the PSL, which is five. This would happen only after the Bangladesh players leave for their international team commitments.
Players list:
Lahore Qalandars
England’s Jason Roy in place of West Indian Dwayne Bravo
Australian Chris Green in place of Australian Shaun Tait
New Zealand James Franklin in place of New Zealand’s Anton Devcich

Peshawar Zalmi
West Indian Marlon Samuels replaces England’s Alex Hales
West Indian Andre Fletcher replaces Afghanistan’sMohammad Shahzad
Sri Lankan Tillakaratne Dilshan replaces Bangladesh’s Shakib-Al-Hasan

Quetta Gladiators
England’s Moeen Ali replaces West Indian Carlos Brathwaite
New Zealand’s Nathan McCullum replaces England’s David Willey
Sri Lankan Thisara Perera replaces West Indian Rovman Powell
South African Rilee Rossouw replaces Afghanistan’s Mohammad Nabi.