LAHORE, Oct 31 (APP)- Chairman, Pakistan Cricket Board, Shaharyar M Khan said on Monday the National women cricket team is capable of beating the hosts in its coming tour of New Zealand.
“This is the time for our women team to show consistency in the series against Kiwis women side in one day series as well as in the only T20 match,” he said after a meeting with the team at National cricket academy. Also present was General Manager, PCB Women Wing, Shamsha Kashmi.
Pak team which is departing for New Zealand will play five day one day internationals and a lone T20 match against the hosts. Women captain, Sana Mir introduced the team members with the Chairman PCB.
“The team is in good shape and it has the added advantage of beating India and Bangladesh in the T20 World Cup and what is needed an exhibition of skills and technique on part of players to play positive cricket during the tour of New Zealand.
Chairman PCB urged the players to remain focus during the series and display exemplary discipline on and off the field.
Shaharyar M Khan said PCB is taking all out of measures for the promotion of women cricket and ensuring women teams participation in elite cricket tournament besides arranging their series with the different countries.
He congratulated the former test cricketer ,Basit Ali for taking over the responsibility of the head coach of the team and expressed the hope that the team will perform to higher level under his coaching besides making use of his expertise and standing in the game.
“New Zealand is a cricket loving country, winning and losing
is part of the game, play good cricket and be competitive in all departments of the game; give off your best on the field,” he maintained.
Following is the team, one day (Captain) Sana Mir, (vice captain) Bismah Maroof.
T20 captain , Bismah Maroof , (vice captain) Javeria Wadood. The team is , Sana Mir, Bismah Maroof, Javeria Wadood, Asmavia Iqbal, Nida Rashid Dar, Anam Amin, Sadia Yousaf, Maham Tariq, Syeda Nain Abidi, Nahida Bibi, Ayesha Zafar, Sidra Nawaz (W.K), Aliya Riaz, Iram Javed and Diana Baig.
The Team officials are,A yesha Ashhar , Manager, Basit Ali, Head Coach, Azam Khan, Batting Consultant, Rifat Asghar Gill – Physiotherapist, Ibrar Ahmad, Trainer, Muhammad Zubair Ahmad – Video Analyst.