AJK Legislative Assembly and Council joint sitting summoned

MIRPUR (AJK), Aug 1 (APP): Election to the new President of
Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) will be held on August 15.

Members of both houses of the AJK Parliament including the
newly-elected AJK Legislative Assembly and the AJK Council, would elect the new President of AJK State for next five year.

The stipulated constitutional term of the sitting AJK
President Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Khan is being ended on August 24, 2016.

The Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of AJK Justice Ghulam Mustafa Mughal, has announced the schedule of the election to the office of the new President of Azad Jammu and Kashmir.

According to the schedule, nomination papers for office of the AJK President could be filed in the office of the Chief Election Commissioner AJK (Returning Officer) in his office at House No. 1, Near AJK Legislative Assembly, in Muzaffarabad, on August 11, 2016 from 10.00 a.m to 12.00 noon.

Scrutiny of the nomination papers would be held the same day after 12.00 noon.

The candidates could withdraw the nomination papers the next day- August 12, 2016 by 12.00:p.m.

Polling would be held on August 15, 2016 between 10.00:a.m to 3.00:p.m at the Lodging Hall of AJK Legislative Assembly in Muzaffarabad.

According to an official notification Secretary AJK Election
Commission Mian Naeem Ullah will perform as Presiding Officer in the scheduled election to the AJK President.

The Chief Election Commissioner of AJK has, under Clause 13 of the AJK Presidential Election Rules, has requested the President of Azad Jammu and Kashmir to summon the joint session of both houses of the AJK Parliament the AJK Council and the AJK Legislative Assembly, on August 15, 2016.