LAHORE, Oct 11 (APP):A number of matches were decided in different
age groups on the opening day of the National Junior Badminton Championships, here on Thursday at Nishtar Park Gymnasium.
Punjab Badminton Association is conducting the championships in collaboration with Sports Board Punjab and Pakistan Badminton Federation.
Khawaja Idrees Haider, Secretary, Punjab Olympic Association inaugurated the event. Majid Ali Chaudhry President Punjab Badminton Association and Wajid Ali Chuadhry Secretary, Pakistan Badminton Federation were also present at the occasion.
The chief guest appreciated the efforts of PBA and PBF for the further promotion of the game.He also thanked the director general Punjab Sports Board for providing all the facilities for the smooth conduct of the competition.
Majid Ali Chaudhry in his speech announced to arrange Pakistan Junior Badminton team’s to Kuwait and bear all the expenses of the tour.
Following are the results of the matches.
Boys Single U-14 First Round: Hashir (Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa) beat Ali Zain (Sindh) by 21-6, 21-13
Umar Khan (Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa) beat M Ali Mehdi (Balochistan) by 21-9, 21-5, Zavior (Islamabad) beat Israr Hassan (Balochistan) by 21-19, 17-21, 21-19.
Boys Single U-16 First Round: Muhammad Taha (Sindh) beat Hassan Raza (Balochistan) by 21-11, 21-12, Muhammad Uzair (Khyber Pakhunkhawa) beat Syed Hassan (Balochistan) by 21-11, 21-12, Danyal Shahzada (Khyber-Pakhtnkhwa) beat Nouman Habib (Punjab) by 21-8, 10-21, 21-19; Mohammad Haneef (Punjab) beat Ghadeer Ali (Balochistan) by 21-5, 21-14
Harris Fareed (Punjab) beat Mazhar Hussain (Balochistan) by 21-6, 21-13, Hamza (Khyber Pakhunkhwa) beat Mahad Bin Rafay (Islamabad) by 21-15, 21-13.
Boys Single U-18 First Round: Mubariz Bin Rafay (Islamabad) beat Danyal Shegal (Sindh) by 21-14, 9-21, 21-10, Jalees Yousaf (Punjab) beat Ali Arshad (Islamabad) by 21-7, 21-12, Miam Waseem (Sindh) beat Imran Ali (Balochistan) by 19-21, 26-24, 24-22, Muqsit Amir (Punjab) beat Esa Khan Jagezai (Islamabad) by 21-19, 21-7, Asad Tahir (Punjab) beat Mukarram Ali (AJK) by 21-18, 21-10, Ali Akbar (Balochistan) beat Shayan (Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa) by 21-14, 21-14, Malik Hassam Ullah (Sindh) beat Hamza Wishal (AJK) by 21-17, 21-8, Anas Akhtar (Punjab) beat Amar Shahzaib (Islamabad) by 21-14, 21-11.