MUZZAFFARABAD, Aug 16 (APP): Seasoned diplomat Masood
Khan, a candidate of Pakistan Muslim League (N) was elected President of Azad Jammu & Kashmir, by obtaining 42 votes out of 55 here Tuesday, for the next five year constitutional term.

His only opponent candidate Chaudhry Latif Akbar of Pakistan Peoples Party got only six votes. Meanwhile, six members of the Legislative Assembly of Muslim Conference and Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI) boycotted the voting process and another member of the
Assembly namely Sardar Khalid Ibrahim of JKPP was yet to take oath as member of the assembly.

The presidential election was held here at the Lodging Hall of AJK Legislative Assembly under secret ballot system.

A total of 48 members of both houses of AJK parliament AJK Legislative Assembly and AJK Council participated in the electoral process.

The AJK Election Commission officially declared Masood Khan as elected President of AJK.