“Majlis-e-Shoora” session starts


ISLAMABAD, Nov 17 (APP): The Joint Sitting of the Parliament on Thursday  started at 2:50 pm with the recitation of the Holy Quran and Naat. Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq chairs the session.

President of the Republic of Turkey Recep Tayyip Erdogan will make the history to address the Joint Sitting of the Parliament for third time.

Recep Tayyip Erdogan has visited Pakistan on a number of the occasions,  but this will be his first bilateral visit since rising to the Presidency in August 2014.

Pakistan and Turkey are bound by an exemplary relationship characterized  by warmth, cordiality, and mutual trust. These are embedded deep in history, common faith, cultural and linguistic affinities and a sense of common destiny.

It is pertinent to mention here that 17 foreign dignitaries have
addressed the Parliament so far and witnessed its proceedings on their official visits to Pakistan since 1947.

The shah of Iran was the first one who had addressed the joint session
of parliament on March 15. He again visited the National Assembly on July 3, 1962 and witnessed its proceedings.

Similarly, those dignitaries who had addressed National Assembly
included Philippines president Diodas Macapagal, Indonesian president Dr Sukarno, Palestine president Yasser Arafat, French president Francois Mitterrand, Islamic Consultative Assembly of Iran speakers Mehdi Karroubi and Ali Akbar Nategh Nouri.

Meanwhile, those foreign dignitaries who had addressed joint session of
parliament included Sri Lankan Prime Minister Sirimavo Bandaranayake, Turkish president Kenan Evren, Iranian president Ali Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani, Chinese president Jiang Zemin, Queen Elizabeth II, former Chinese prime minister Wen Jiabao and President Xi Jinping.

Tayyip Erdogan had twice addressed the joint session when he was the
Turkish prime minister in 2009 and 2012, respectively. Two former Chinese heads had also addressed the Upper House of Parliament.