Qadir elected AJK Speaker, Farooq Deputy

AJK Legislative Assembly and Council joint sitting summoned

MUZAFFARABAD, July 30 (APP): Shah Ghulam Qadir and Sardar Farooq Tahir of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) were elected as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly (AJKLA) here on Saturday.

The newly elected AJK Assembly met under the chairmanship of outgoing Speaker Sardar Ghulam Sadiq Khan, who first administered oath to the members, except Sardar Khalid Ibrahim Khan and then conducted the election for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

Shah Ghulam, PML-N’s candidate for Speaker, secured 39
votes against three votes by Malik Muhammad Nawaz of Muslim Conference and four by Pakistan Peoples Party’s  Aamar Ghafar Lone, while two votes were rejected.

Similarly, PML-N’s candidate Sardar Farooq Tahir won the
post of Deputy Speaker by securing 39 votes while his rivals Muslim Conference’s Sardar Sagheer Chughtai got five and and PPP’s Shazia Akbar four votes.

Members from both the treasury and opposition benches felicitated Shah Ghulam Qadir and Sardar Farooq Tahir on their election.

In his inaugural address,  the newly elected Speaker expressed his gratitude to the assembly members and said he would run the house with their cooperation and assistance. All the members were equally respectable for him, he added.
Shah Ghulam Qadir said he would follow rules and regulations for the better functioning of the newly-elected government.

It may be added that Shah Ghulam Qadir held the office of AJK LA Speaker in the past.

The AJK Legislative Assembly will elect Leader of the House on Sunday (Tomorrow) at 10am for which the PML-N has already nominated Raja Farooq Haider Khan.