A total of 24 matches decided in Tennis


ISLAMABAD, Dec 4 (APP): As many as 24 matches were decided on the opening day of 2nd Benazir Bhutto Shaheed International Tennis Championships played here at the Islamabad Tennis Complex, G-6/5.
In the morning session Quaran Khawani and Fatiha was held at Islamabad Tennis Complex for Shaheed Mohtarma Benzair Bhutto. Senator Taj Haider, Senator Mushahid Hussain Syed, Senator Sarder Mir Kabir, Fazal Subhan Khalil , Karmran Khalil Tournament Director, Major Rashid Khan Ex Secretary Pakistan Tennis Federation (PTF) were present on the occasion.
On the occasion Senator Mushahid Hussain Syed welcomed the players for the event and encouraged the youngsters for participation in the tournament. He advised the players to struggle hard to win the competition and play fair game.
Senator Taj Haider thanked the sponsors and hoped for more foreign players in the coming years and this tournament become a symbol of country’s prestigious. He said this is the best way to pay tribute to Shaheed Mohtarma Benzair Bhutto who scarified her life for this beloved country.
This is the second edition of the Tournament which had attracted foreign players from Iran and Saudi Arabia. This tournament carries the highest prize money of Rs 600,000.
More than 200 players will be seen in action in seven different events of Men’s Singles, Men’s Doubles, Junior U-18, Boys U-14, Boys U-10, Ladies Singles and Senior 45 Plus.
The final round will be played on Monday. The Main draws of Men’s Singles, Boys U-18, Boys U-14 Boys U-10 and Ladies Singles will also be held on Monday.
Men’s Singles Qualifying 1st round: Ahmed Asjad beat Fouz Sattar 8-1; Gul Zaman beat Umaid Saeed Khan 8-1; Jehanzeb Khan beat Komail Zaidi 8-0; Kashif Khan beat Omer Iftikhar 8-0; Khalil Khan beat Malik Masood 8-2; Suhail Kiani was given a walk over againstSaad Iqra; Waheedullah beat Waleed Ahmed Ranjha 8-2; Nouman Ahmed was given a walk over against Waleed Anwar; Faisal Khan was given a walk over against Mohsin Khan and Moosa Ch beat Razeen Mumtaz 8-0.
Men’s Singles Qualifying 2nd round: Wajid Khalil was given a walk over against Kashan-ul-Haq; Major Ahsan beat Asim Israt 8-1;
Jibran-ul-Haq beat Pooyan Shateri (Iran) 8-0; Yaseen Abbasi beat Ahmed Murad 8-0; Faizan Khurram was given a walk over against Asim Sheikh; Ahmed Asjad was given a walk over against Zaid Mujahid; Gul Zaman beat Ikramullah 8-2; Jehanzeb Khan beat Fahim Ramzan 8-2;
Asadulllah beat Kashif Khan 8-1; Inam Khan beat Khalil Khan 8-1;
Raja Shafaqaat beat Sohail Kiani 8-6; Mubarak Shah beat Waheedullah 8-1; Adnan Rashid beat Nouman Ahmed 8-6; Asad Mehmood Khan beat Faisal Khan 8-0 and Hafiz Arbab Ali beat Moosa Ch 8-4.